SPIP Redux

I wrote back in January a bit about a French CMS called SPIP. Well, I sure don’t have time right now to evaluate anything thoroughly … but did take another peek today and must say I’m intrigued.

For starters, it looks totally different (the admin section) from any other US or Brit-centric publishing tool I’ve seen so far. The icons, the styling, the way everything is laid out.
It’s definitely not a quick-up-and-running type of tool. But it certainly doesn’t look as daunting as something like Typo3 or eZpublish. You do need to put together your own templates, learn the tags etc. But it looks manageable, and quite probably powerful under the hood.
Worth a closer look if you’re hunting for a tool to allow a group of contributors to manage a magazine-style site together.

About

I live on Android and game on PlayStation and Nintendo. The PS VITA is my favourite console. My job: poodle mum.

Posted in CMS

Leave a Reply

